Home > RTOFS model forecast documentation

RTOFS (Atlantic) is a basin-scale ocean forecast system based on the HYbrid Coordinate Ocean Model (HYCOM).

The model is run once a day, completing at about 1400Z. Each run starts with a 24 hour assimiliation hindcast and produces ocean surface forecasts every hour and full volume forecasts every 24 hours from the 0000Z nowcast out to 120 hours.

RTOFS (Atlantic) model data is available after 1400 UTC (9 AM EST).

Nowcast/Forecast graphics are updated around 1430 UTC (9:30 AM EST).

RTOFS web home page: http://polar.ncep.noaa.gov/ofs/