Skip Navigation Links 
NOAA logo - Click to go to the NOAA homepage National Weather Service   NWS logo - Click to go to the NWS homepage
National Centers for Environmental Prediction
Navigation Bar Left Cap
Navigation Bar End Cap

Home > RTOFS model forecast documentation

RTOFS (Atlantic) is a basin-scale ocean forecast system based on the HYbrid Coordinate Ocean Model (HYCOM).

The model is run once a day, completing at about 1400Z. Each run starts with a 24 hour assimiliation hindcast and produces ocean surface forecasts every hour and full volume forecasts every 24 hours from the 0000Z nowcast out to 120 hours.

RTOFS (Atlantic) model data is available after 1400 UTC (9 AM EST).

Nowcast/Forecast graphics are updated around 1430 UTC (9:30 AM EST).

RTOFS web home page:



NOAA/ National Weather Service
National Centers for Environmental Prediction
5830 University Research Court
College Park, Maryland 20740
NCEP Internet Services Team
Privacy Policy
About Us
Career Opportunities
Page last modified: [an error occurred while processing this directive]